Winter Skin Savior

winter-skin.jpg
Image Courtesy of alphaskincare.wordpress.com/2016/12/20/winter-skin-care-exfoliate-the-right-way

Officially, this is my second year in Canada so I am more prepared  to deal with its horrendous dry skin season (re: winter). If you have (I bet most of you are) same problem with me, you will want to read this article 😆. Here I shared my skin care essentials, especially to survive Calgary’s arid conditions.

The Face 👩🏻

Hey flaky face! Yes that was me last year 😥. My face was in condition where it was extremely dry that every time after I wash it and I flex my face I can feel my skin cracked and my whole face become super itchy 😷. That time I just want to peeled off the skin and replaced it with a new one, but of course I can’t do that, can I? 😑 I go back and forth trying cleanser and moisturizer products (Fresh, PTR, Philoshopy, Josie Maran) that I thought would help me in Sephora for almost five months. Some products helped a bit but not up to my expectation (put into consideration most of them came with a price tag, but I believe -most of the time- there is a price, there is a quality).

Until one day, I met this Beauty Advisor (at first I didn’t realize she wasn’t Sephora employee 😶) and she gave me full treatment using First Aid Beauty products (yup, I should have known at this point where she was from ☺️). From all the stuffs she tried on me, finally I brought home a package consist of FAB Cleanser (2 oz)FAB Ultra Repair Cream Intense Hydration (6 oz)FAB Ultra Repair Hydra-Frim Sleeping Cream (1.7 oz)FAB Facial Radiance Pads (28 pads), and Vitamin Hydrating Mist (59ml). I think the mist is discontinued since I can’t find it in Sephora’s website and as replacement (imho) they launch Hello FAB Vital Greens Face Mist. If you want to try FAB, I suggest you to get their value sets so you can try several products at once and decide which one is work for you. Up until now (when this article posted) FAB products that I still use are the Creams (both moisturizer and sleeping cream), Pads (I adore that it gently peeled the dead skin without turned my face red) and my favorite one is the mist (it really helped a lot to tone down my dry skin). As face cleanser I just finished Ole Henriksen African Red Tea Foaming Cleanser, what can I say about this face wash is I like it because it is foamy and comes with pump, it also smells nice but unfortunately it made my face a bit dry. That’s another reason I don’t buy the second bottle for this winter beside I really want to try cleansing oil , so I purchased this Shea Cleansing Oil from L’Occitane.

The Lip 👄

After a long and painful 🙄 journey looking for lip balm, lipstick, lip gloss or anything that can aid my overly chapped lip, finally I found this Jack Black Moisture Therapy Lip Balm SPF 25. I am aware that Jack Black is men’s skin care, but after read the reviews, turned out many women use it too 💁🏻 (also it is written in their page that the formula are good for both men and women) so I decided to give it a try and since then it becomes my holy grail. The texture itself is kinda thick and gloss, if you familiar with Vaseline Jelly, they are similar because both use petroleum as their main ingredient. Because of that, I mostly only use it just before I go to bed at night, even though it has SPF 🤷🏻‍♀️. Sometimes I apply a thin layer under matte lipstick and it keeps my lip moist 💋.

The Hand 🙏🏻

For this one, I need to thank my coworker for introduced me to Glysomed Hand Cream from Blistex. It saves my hands from extreme dryness because not only Calgary weather against me but I also have to use sanitizer in my work and that my friend is really (I repeat, really) make your hands super duper dry! I tried hand cream from AvèneL’Occitane, and even David’s Tea tea-infused-hand-cream (if you don’t know yet, yeah they are not only sell teas, mugs and tumblers but hand lotion too) before but still they couldn’t rescued my hands from severe conditions. There was time when the skin on my index finger was extremely dry, chapped and hard so I can use it as a grater 😭🙄. But sad no more, Glysomed saved me! 💅🏻 I use it every time after shower, before and after I finish work, before bed and sometimes after I wash my hand at home. Oh, I got mine from Costco for only $14.89 and you’ll get two big tube @200ml and one travel size tube 50ml (this one you can carry in your bag). A lot cheaper than from Shoppers where my brother bought it, around $11 for the big one 💸.

The Body (can’t find proper emoji for this 😝)

I use Lubriderm Advanced Therapy Lotion all year long. I don’t feel the need to change to another brand during winter as it still doing the job well. But I find that I have to apply the lotion more often. That is not a big deal, since it is cheap and reliable, what is not to love ☺️. Another thing I realize helping me from dry skin is don’t take a bath with hot (super hot) water. Hot water makes your skin lost its moisturizer. So I have to hold my (strong) desire for taking a nice long hot bath time until this winter evil passed 😆. Aside from the lotion, sometimes I give extra treatment for my body by scrubing it with coffee ground mixed with oatmeal. It makes my skin smooth, soft and supple.

The Hair 💆🏻

At the moment I haven’t try any hair care that I think worth to share with you yet. Since my hair and scalp condition are still in bearable stage as long I put conditioner on my scalp once a week to calm down the flakiness (things I never done while I’m in my home country). I also have hair loss dilemma (I said dilemma because it will decrease if I cut my hair shorter), but it happens from long time ago so lets say we are in peace. If you know a great product for hair loss, feel free to share it with me 😉. As of now I use CHI Keratin Reconstructing Shampoo, TRESemmé Split Remedy Conditioner, L’ORÉAL Hair Expertise Extraordinary Clay Mask, and L’ORÉAL EverPure Repair & Defend Lotion.

Last but not least! Don’t forget to drink enough water to keep your body naturally hydrated 💦 (note to myself 🤦🏻‍♀️).

 

 

With love,

T👩🏻‍💻

Leave a Reply

